eSocial: I dream about internet marketing….and palm trees


A Social Media Red Carpet Success!
March 4, 2010, 9:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,
ESPN The Weekend 2010, Garrett Hartley

New Orleans Saints Kicker, Garrett Hartley & I At The ESPN Wide World of Sport Grand Re-Opening

I’m sure many of my regular readers wonder about the title of my blog. While I may not actually dream of Social Media, I am very interested in he emerging applications of this technology and how they can be used in my career scope of Marketing, Advertising and PR.

However, I often do dream of palm trees and other tropical places (who doesn’t), and I am definitely a Florida Girl! I love my home in Michigan dearly, but I secretly desire to be a snowbird and have the best of both worlds (as Hannah Montana would say)! I loved living in Florida while on my internship with Disney, and I return to the Sunshine State almost every chance I get.

My most recent visit to Florida was to take part in ESPN The Weekend at Disney’s Hollywood Studios. This year they also held the Grand Re-Opening of The Newly Re-Branded ESPN Wide World Of Sports Complex Red Carpet Event to coincide with the weekend events. Interestingly enough, even though I follow the ESPN The Weekend schedule closely, I would not have known about the Red Carpet Event had it not been for Social Media!

As an avid Disney lover and former intern, I follow all the Disney Brands On Twitter, @DisneyParks, @DisneySports, exc. A few days before my flight to ESPN weekend Disney posted a tweet about their updated blog- which I follow via twitter! The blog post indicated that as part of the ESPN weekend there would be a special Red Carpet Event for the Grand Re-Opening of the ESPN Wide World Of Sports Complex followed by a special performance by the Harlem Globetrotters. Since I was already planning on attending ESPN Weekend, I was shocked that I did not know about these 2 events.

The blog post indicated that the Harlem Globetrotters Event was ticketed, and that tickets could be purchased at any ticketmaster location, so I immediately ordered a pair from ticketmaster.com. However it did not say if the Red Carpet Event was ticketed or not, but more info could be found by following @DisneySports On Twitter. Since I was following them already, I glanced through their page, and the only info they had regarding the event pointed to the blog post. I decided to tweet them. To my delight, Disney responded very quickly, within an hour to my tweet and let me know that the event was not ticketed, and to be sure to arrive early due to capacity limits!

The end result: I had an even better trip because I got to attend the Red Carpet Event and see the Harlem Globetrotters performance in addition to all of the other ESPN Weekend Events.

Social Media +1, Traditional Media 0.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

